V+기만 하면 ~ (1) Whenever One Does V; (2) Only If V

The grammar structure can be used in two difference ways – to express that “whenever one does V”  and “only if V”/”as long as V”.

Examples

(1) Whenever one does V
나는 술을 마시기만 하면 졸아요.
Whenever I drink I get sleepy.

나는 생선을 먹기만 하면 배가 아파요.
Whenever I eat fish my stomach hurts.

(2) Only if V
돈을 벌기만 하면 집을 장만할 수 있어요.
Only if I save money will I be able to buy a house.

Leave a Reply

