Advice #2

Question: I’m packing for a summer trip to Korea, any tips?


I’m packing for my second July trip to Korea, and trying to make some wiser packing decisions than last year. I found this packing list amazingly helpful and made just a few adjustments. It’s designed for females in mind but it would be easily adjustable for males.

I would forget bringing anything thick and heavy – Korea’s summer, unlike that here in Australia, is hot and sticky. Think light and breezy fabrics. I would take a light cardigan or jumper though, some department store’s airconditioning is set to ice age.

Another thing I’m packing this year is gumboots. July and August is monsoon season and I hate wet feet, a feeling I experienced way too often last time. Although of course Korea sells gumboots, I’m Korean size 275 and I never saw any store selling a size bigger than 255 or 260 – so if you have large feet forget buying shoes in Korea. Also in the shoes department, you really don’t need anymore than 3-4 pairs – thongs, walking shoes, dressier shoes and (maybe) gumboots.

Make sure to pack a hat and sunscreen as well, and you’ll be set. And if you’re a chronic over packer like myself, the first step to recovery is acceptance! Be critical of every item and ask yourself whether you really need it.

Do you have any packing tips for the Korean summer? Let me know in the comments!

Got a question? Leave it in the comments or send it to sydneytoseoul(at)hotmail(dot)com.

4 thoughts on “Advice #2

  1. The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy was right about a TOWEL being a travelers best friend. In Korea, the face-cloths are bigger than the bath towels, so if you like nice big towel you will have to bring it with you. That being said, its so hot in summer you will dry off so quickly and a towel is a big thing to pack… so I settle in-between with a thin sarong type piece of material for a towel (to be precise, its a Kikoy – a Kenyan traditional style sarong. have been traveling with them for that last few years and they are awesome for EVERYthing!)

    • Wow, never heard about a Kikoy before – sounds like a great option. Microfiber towels are great too.

      And you are completely right about Korean towels! I found out just how small they can get in a very embarrassing way at the worst possible time! >-> ㅋㅋㅋ

  2. I think it depends on how long are you staying over there…I think finding in Korea either pants (of any length) or skirts may be a bit difficult (depending on your size and height). From past experiences, don’t pack more than 7 days worth of clothes because you may end up buying more over there.

    Which reminds me, I’m supposed to be packing for my trip to Korea too, so I’ll keep in mind what you’ve mentioned so far.

Leave a Reply

