Korean Resource Review: Modern Korean – An Intermediate Reader

Ladies and gentlemen, we have a new contender for best Korean textbook, possibly knocking Korean Grammar in Use off its pedestal. While browsing my university library collection of Korean resources I hit the jackpot – Modern Korean: An Intermediate Reader by Nam-Kil Kim.

Modern-Korean-Review

Modern Korean is the ideal textbook for intermediate learners, divided into 2 sections with 12 chapters each. If have completed Level 1 and 2 TOPIK, this book should be great for your level.

Chapters begin with a reading passage, followed by notes on the dialogue,  featured vocabulary, grammatical patterns and a glossary. The exercises are extensive – substitution and grammar drills, comprehension questions, translations and more. I particularly love the inclusion of translation exercises – they are not included often in Korean textbooks despite being a useful exercise.

Modern Korean 2

 

Another great feature of this book is the inclusion of 한자 in the second half. Like translation exercises, I don’t often see these in other textbooks.

Modern Korean 1

Overall, I’m very happy with this find – if I see in a bookstore I’ll definitely be buying it. But for now I’ll keep renewing my library loan! My only small complaint would be that some of the passage are a little dry for my taste, but the example sentences are more interesting.

Rating: 5/5

Modern Korean: An Intermediate Reader, Nam-Kil Kim
ISBN-10: 0824822226 | ISBN-13: 978-0824822224

11 thoughts on “Korean Resource Review: Modern Korean – An Intermediate Reader

  1. seoulinme says:

    I’m creating a list of textbooks to buy at the end of the month ~ and if this could knock Korean Grammar In Use into the dust then I need it 100% and also I have been looking to “read” more and not be lazy all the time (its my weakness) so I will be getting this indefinitely 🙂 thank you Z ^^

  2. Hana S says:

    This looks amazing!! Thank you so much for the reveiw!! I just placed an order for this book right now!! This looks like the Integrated korean textbooks that i use at home

  3. Sharo says:

    Hi, Great article. My best friends are from Korea and I have always wanted to speak in their language. Though they thought me a few words, it was not enough. I have found different products and courses with different methods.
    Finally, I started my learning about 1.5 months ago with one of these methods. In this method, there are audio lessons which eventually teach you Korean grammars and words in different conversations and you can lesson to them whenever and wherever you like. You can check the link here:
    https://tinyurl.com/ybfbtcyw

Leave a Reply

