Korean Resource Review: 한국어 회화 2

review2

A book I happened to pick up in a Sydney Korean bookshop, 한국어 회화 2 from 고려대학교 출판부 was a pleasant surprise.

Each chapter opens with a dialogue (and usually an interesting one!) and follows with a number of key grammar structures which were featured in the dialogue. Vocab lists and extensive exercises are also included. I like that there is not a great reliance on English within the book, it is only used in the conscise grammar explanations and vocabulary lists. I like the special chapters that provide writing prompts as well.

IMG_0663

한국어 회화 is by no means the best textbook out there, it has a number of spelling errors and often mistakenly has “followed by” when “proceeded by” should be used. However it is a solid text book, the explanations are quite detailed and the examples are great. Answers to the exercises would be a nice addition though.

I won’t be going out of my way to search for the next level in the series, but I would pick it up if I come across it as it is a lot better than many of offerings out there.

Rating: 3.5/5
ISBN: 89-7155-004-X
Price: ~AUD$30

Review

7 thoughts on “Korean Resource Review: 한국어 회화 2

  1. Hi, if you don’t mind, would you be able to give a fellow Sydneysider the address to the Korean bookshop you bought this from? I’ve been looking for Korean bookshops, there is one in Eastwood that I’ve heard of, but I haven’t been to check it out yet!

    1. Of course! The one in Eastwood is Sydney Bookland (or something along those lines). Haven’t been there in awhile but they were quite expensive and didn’t have much of a range in terms of studying Korean from memory.

      I got this book from Chatswood. Don’t recall the store’s name, however it’s located in the top level of the Lemon Grove shopping centre (opposite Westfield). It’s in a corner and looks like a clothes shop only from a distance (they sell clothes as well).

      Hopefully that somewhat makes sense! 🙂 I’ll be in Chatswood on the weekend, so might check it out and post more details later. ^^

      1. Ah thank you! I live right by there so that’s super easy.
        Love the blog and good luck with your studies!

Leave a comment