Setting Goals for the Coming Year

새해 결심이 무엇인가요?

The new year has got me thinking about my goals for Korean. I’m considering the pursuit of a level 3 pass in TOPIK later in the year but do not want to enter that goal naively. I’m well aware that the chasm-like jump of difficulty between the beginner and intermediate TOPIK exam, so will begin with baby steps ^^

Firstly, I’m taking some inspiration from M at koreanstudentblog, who periodically does a past exam to monitor her progress, and plan to do a past exam monthly to start with. Seeing material proof of your own improvement is always a motiviation booster!

One of my favourite non-Korea related blogs, A Beautiful Mess, advocates the use of activity orientated goals rather than outcome based.

Here are my activity based goals…
ONE: Speak more Korean. I need to get more comfortable with speaking and have the perfect (almost ;)) practice partner at home.

TWO: Be patient. Stop trying to rush through the learning process. Slow down to enjoy the process and put in quality study time.

THREE: Do a little each day. From little things, big things grow ^^ I’m going to start with reviewing one past TOPIK question each day in depth.

Another great post on goal setting at Pick the Brain.

What are your Korean goals for this year?

11 thoughts on “Setting Goals for the Coming Year

  1. Good luck! ^^ I wish you a great 2013 with lots of quality study time🙂
    Thank you for your reference, I’m really glad you could find some inspiration🙂
    I think speaking more is a really good goal. My experience is that even though I might be able to write something down without greater difficulties, once I need to say it out loud, my confidence really suffers.

    • And good luck to you too~~
      I suffer the same problem, my listening and reading comprehension is quite a lot higher than my speaking, which I hope to rectify in the coming year! ^^

  2. Good luck! Especially on the speaking… I’ve found once I’m comfortable talking to someone, it gets a lot easier, but until then it’s always hard and awkward; starting a conversation is hard…
    I’ve made some goals too, more focused on reading and writing. Writing is my big weakness, mostly because I’ve done so little of it the last few years. So I want to do that regularly, and read as much as possible. Reading’s my strength, but I need to aim to read faster.

  3. If you’d like a tool for setting your goals, you can use this web application:

    Gtdagenda. com

    You can use it to manage your goals, projects and tasks, set next actions and contexts, use checklists, and a calendar.
    Syncs with Evernote and Google Calendar, and also comes with mobile version, and Android and iPhone apps.

Leave a Reply

