Tips for using Anki

I’ve mentioned before how much I love Anki when studying new vocabulary. What’s not to love? Especially since it’s free!
Anki uses spaced repetition to help you retain vocabulary more effectivly and I’ve noticed a significant improvement in my Korean vocab since I started using it.

Here are some tips and tricks I’ve picked up while studying Korean with Anki ~

  • I set out my flash card answer with a definition (usually from Naver’s brilliant dictionary) and an example sentence (again from Naver). Keep your flashcards simple and understandable. Consider maybe adding pictures or audio clips if you find them helpful.
  • Don’t get overenthusiastic and add too much material at once, keep it to a managable level. I usually add 20-30 cards 3 or 4 days a week, after I’ve read a page of Harry Potter or completed a lesson from a textbook.
  • Take advantage of the mobile versions of Anki so you can study wherever you like. It’s free for Andriod (but not for Apple unfortunately), so I take Anki with me and take advantage of any time which would usually be wasted, like on public transport or waiting for class.
  • Be consistent – I try and review my flash cards everyday to maximise memory retetion. This way you’ll also avoid being faced with huge amounts of due cards when you do get back to reviewing.
  • Don’t get put off when you can’t remember a certain piece of vocab. Let Anki remove it (which it will after you fail it too many times) and take a break from that card.
  • Don’t lie. If you tell Anki you remembered a card when you didn’t  it will mess with Anki’s timings and defeat the purpose of the exercise.
  • When you review your flashcards do it in a quiet environment (if possible). I find if I have other programs or the radio in the background it’s a lot less effective.

Do you use Anki? Or maybe another flashcard program? How do you make the most of it?

2 thoughts on “Tips for using Anki

Leave a Reply

