V+아/어/여도 돼요 ~ May I? It’s okay to V

To ask or give permission or consent, we can do the following:

  1. If the verb stem ends in ㅏor ㅗ, add ‘-아도 돼요’
  2. If the stem ends in ‘하’, add ‘-해도 돼요’.
  3. If the stem ends in something else, add ‘-어도 돼요’.

Examples
지금 가도 돼요?
May I go now?

이 우유를 마셔도 돼요?
May I drink this milk?

시문을 읽어도 돼요.
It’s okay to read the newspaper.

이거 입어 봐도 돼요?
May I try this on?

One thought on “V+아/어/여도 돼요 ~ May I? It’s okay to V

Leave a Reply

